2018 pv magazine Annual Award winners announced


Following on from the deliberations of our jury, five entries into the pv magazine 2018 Annual Award have been selected. The winners were chosen from those already recognized in pv magazine global and pv magazine Germany’s award rounds held throughout the year.

And the winners are:

GT Advanced Technologies – Polysilicon tube filaments

Reducing energy consumption and increasing the efficiency of polysilicon production through a technology that can be simply and cost-effectively deployed in today’s production facilities.


Nextracker – TrueCapture

A software package being deployed in PV power plants that can boost power output and genuinely deploys AI to enhance performance over time and according to conditions.


First Solar – Series 6 module

Large format CdTe module, enhancing the competitiveness of a proven thin film technology, with the manufacturer to be particularly credited for progressing the technology in isolation from the mainstream c-Si sector.



CMBlu – Organic Flow Batteries

Large scale battery storage technology that is made from organic and recycled materials. Organic redox flow has the potential to become a clean and cheap storage technology and, due to this the potential, to disrupt today’s storage technologies – despite some existing questions such as cycle life time, energy density and proof of concept.


The Mobility House – Vehicle-to-grid (V2G) technology

Connecting e-mobility with grid operation, in what could be a major trend in the provision of essential grid services. After having equipped the Amsterdam Arena with a large scale storage system for multiple business models and using second-use automotive batteries, The Mobility House has now made a big move in integrating an electric vehicle in the national grid with a bidirectional charging/discharging solution.


pv magazine would like to congratulate all winners, which represent outstanding innovations in 2018. Awardees have been selected as they are making a significant contribution to the advancement of the solar and energy storage sectors today, could have a disruptive market impact in the future, and/or are making a considerable contribution to the global energy transition.

“There are several major trends which can be deduced from this year’s award applications,” said Michael Fuhs, pv magazine’s Head of Editorial. “On the manufacturing level, there are still disruptive technologies in the pipeline, while on a more practical level, after the current PERC investment wave, experts are now discussing what shape the next will take.

“In large scale storage applications, the potentially disruptive development of organic redox flow may be an option future deployment,” Fuhs continued. “Indeed, as the proportion of renewables in electricity networks increases, the integration of storage becomes of vital importance. This refers not only to the integration of storage with solar, but also in using the batteries of electric vehicles for grid stabilization.”

The Annual Award jury comprised of a nine-person panel of international solar and energy storage sector experts. They were:

– Jay Lin, PV Guider (Taiwan),

– Alison Ciesla, UNSW (Australia),

– Simon Price, Exawatt (UK),

– Jenny Chase, Bloomberg NEF (Switzerland),

– Stefan Müller, Enerparc (Germany),

– Surbhi Singhvi, Bridge to India (India),

– Florian Mayr, Apricum (Germany),

– Rolf Heynen, Dutch New Energy Research (Holland),

– Eren Engur, Icarus (Turkey).

Alongside the award winners, a further seven entries were recognized as being highly commended. They are: JinkoSolar – Cheetah Series module, 1366 Technologies – Direct Wafer process, centhrotherm – c.DEPO LP LPCVD system, Hanwha Q Cells – Q.Peak DUO-G5 module, E3/DC – TriLINK Technology, Kaco New Energy – blueplanet 125 TL3, and the Open EMS Association.

The Annual Award winners will be recognized in a ceremony alongside the Middle East Solar Industry Associations’ Solar Awards, during the World Future Energy Summit. More details on the winners and on the jurors you will also find in the next print edition of pv magazine.

The pv magazine editorial team would like to thank all entrants for applying for the award and the jurors, for taking the time to consider a large number of high-quality entrants.

This content is protected by copyright and may not be reused. If you want to cooperate with us and would like to reuse some of our content, please contact: editors@pv-magazine.com.